Posted in Mental Health

You’re Beautiful!

Image source: Thestir.cafemom.com

Life was so much simpler as a child

You could play and just go wild

Seeing only laughter and beauty

around you and then you grew up.

********

Do you know how beautiful you are?

the last few years, I could barely see you

you were so tiny, I feared hugging you,

crushing your bones, you were that small;

I remember seeing you back then…

the wind was blowing and I could swear

it was pushing you farther from where

I was sitting on the park bench waiting

watching, silently observing you wasting

away and praying for a miracle.

That was two years ago my friend,

now the miracle did transcend

you are beautiful just as you are.

Too bad you don’t see that far

and that soon you will eat a little…

purge a lot, and you will never settle

for healthy,  because you don’t see

YOU as you are, you miss all that beauty.

Alas, I pray that someday your insight

will see beauty within, as well as in the light

of day…blessings my friend.

© Cheryl-Lynn Roberts, October 24, 2013

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

12 thoughts on “You’re Beautiful!

  1. Such a moving poem. As someone who too has a dear friend suffering from a eating disorder, I felt all the pain and helplessness your verses conveyed. Thank you for sharing. I wish there would be something more I could say.

    Like

      1. Yes, certainly. I try to be there for her. Listen to her and encourage her without putting any pressure on. The temptation is so great to try and “fix” it, but I know only she can do that. Small steps.

        Like

      2. She is lucky to have you. So many have lost their friends or they withdraw because food and meals are always a topic. Are u in Canada ? I have helpful links for Canada, I should start check more for links worldwide.

        Like

      3. On my site I have a list of links, the ones I recommend and refer to most youths across Canada at my work are NEDIC (National Eating Disorder Informaton Centre) and Sheena’s Place (it;s a Toronto based service but their website is excellent with resources for women and body image. email me at cheryllynnroberts.ca@gmail.com if you like and I could look for resources in her province and city according to age of course. Talk soon. Cheryl-Lynn

        Like

  2. So many young females are victims of eating disorders due to society’s ideals of what they should look like. It is such a shame to see such beauty being wasted away. Powerful piece. Beautifully written.

    Like

    1. Thanks Sonya, it is really less about body image for many…far deeper cry for some sense of control for some and so complex that each one has their own story and struggle. But you’re right that goal to fit into a 00 is such a bonus:(

      Like

Leave a Reply

