Posted in Sexual orientation, Stigma Talks

Coming out (SoCS October ’16/29)

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS Oct. 29/16 is in/out.  This past week I reread a book I had purchased about five years ago about a young man “coming out” to his family.  “Vivre avec l’homesualité de son enfant” by Sylvie Giasson. 

The book is very well written as each chapter shares the thoughts of his parents, his sister and partner. The reaction of the parents touched me more in this second reading.  But, let’s be honest, this young man was not the only person to experience many coming outs in his life, among family, friends and work but his parents and sister as well.

Discussing this book with my supervisor who is a sex therapist, I was talking about how this is a book that should be “required reading” in schools and parents should read it as well to be better informed. Who would think that better informed on sexuality for parents and youths could actually save a life?  Of course I am dreaming in living colour thinking this could happen here…well, maybe in some schools…one must hope.

I decided to reread this to be more in touch with the reality of many of our callers and since this time of year until late February, many youths struggle with suicidal ideations.  We did a survey last year asking youths on line to answer several questions and the results were quite astounding. What I am more focussed on is that one in five teenager reported to having had suicidal ideations or attempted suicide. What I want to add to this is that about 30 to 40% of these teens are probably related to LGBTQ youths.

My heart goes out to youths who call and are so happy because they have come to terms with their sexual orientation…they talk about feeling relieved and want to scream it to the world and we all know that that is nota possible…yet…not in the world we live in.

I am shocked to see that it is only in 1969 in Canada that homosexuality was decriminalized and in 1977 Quebec was the first in North America to prohibit discrimination based on sexual orientation. It took almost twenty years for The Supreme Court of Canada to catch up on this in the Charter of Human Rights.

We have come a long way but still, as I read this slow evolution all I can think to myself, shaking myself is “Shame on us as human beings…shame on us!”

© Cheryl-Lynn’16-10-29

October 11th was National “Coming out” day and here is a link of stories youths have shared on the youth website.

 

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

Leave a Reply

