Posted in Depression, haiku, Mental Health

sitting in darkness (haibun)

Depression can be a passage in time life offers one to take stalk of one’s life; other times it can be more complex…meeting up with past traumas, a chemical imbalance and the brain needs a boost of “vitamins”, a professional who accompanies one through the darkness so they don’t stumble in those twists and turns in that labyrinth of a tunnel…perhaps it is a moment to grieve which I often call a “necessary depression” to take the time one needs to mourn a loss…to recognize and embrace that moment even when it hurts.   I remember telling a youth embracing suffering sounds so absurd but picture embracing a cactus! and once you have felt the pain, with a supportive listener helping you detach from the needles of that plant, a lightness is felt and finally one may find enlightenment.

(Troiku)

sitting in darkness
waiting for the light
nothing seems to change

sitting in darkness
feeling the presence
no longer alone

waiting for the light
must walk out of obscurity
shedding depression

nothing seems to change
twisting paths, in time, alight
dark roads less traveled

© Tournesol ’15

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

5 thoughts on “sitting in darkness (haibun)

    1. So true…I often tell callers there is light at the end of the tunnel but tunnels have curves, twists and they are so crooked it is hard to see the light but you don’t have to go through the darkness alone. I reposted a story I wrote a few weeks ago in my next post…that is a good one for our callers too:) Merci de me lire, ma belle, Julie et Joyeuses Paques…mes fêves au lard ont cuit toute la nuit et là j attend de finir mon jambon fumé glazed with brown sugar and maple sugar:)

      Like

    1. Gee thanks, Hamish! Perhaps it would be a good poster…would have to hve someone do the graphics…something to think about. I find it does resonate to many youths today.

      Like

Leave a Reply

