Posted in Did you know?

Only You Can Stop Bullying

Bullying affects every youth around the world as you will read in this post by Amy Reese Writes. There is help for bullying even if you think it is not possible…reach out to a trusted adult, call a help line…Here is a number in Canada 1 800 668 6868 but the website gives lots of information and the on line counselling is an area where youths see that they are not alone. http://kidshelpphone.ca which is part of http://www.childhelplineinternational.org/about/ check this latter link for resources around the world for youths.

The Bumble Files

We had a terrible tragedy happen this past month in my community. A former student at my son’s school took his life because of cyberbullying. His name was Ronin Shimizu, and he was twelve years old. He was the only boy on a cheerleading squad, which I suspect is the source of some of the bullying. Out of respect to his family, I have not sought out any further details. What I know is enough. This was a senseless tragedy and my heart breaks over it.

Ronin Ronin Shimizu, age 12

Kids acting cruel to each other, misunderstanding, not accepting, and to what end? Do people feel better about themselves by hurting others? Anonymity does not give anyone permission to be hurtful and irresponsible. Insults given over time in large doses shared among the masses can do serious damage, inflicting wounds unseen on the other end of a screen.

I did not know Ronin before this happened, and my son had never met…

View original post 795 more words

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

One thought on “Only You Can Stop Bullying

Leave a Reply

