Posted in Did you know?, Learning Differences, Mental Health, Reflections, who am I?

Why do I blog?

Why do I blog?

Interesting question, I am so glad you asked! I started to blog here, at StigmaHurtsEveryone after reading HerdingCats  She writes about the day-to-day life of her family of 2 boys and 2 girls. She was first in Ireland when I started following he and she has since returned to America; check her out, she is an amazing writer and I love her choice of music too she shares on Music Mondays.

That blog allowed me to write about persons with special needs, mental health and how we need to get better acquainted with various conditions that affect more people than we are willing to admit. ONE in FIVE persons will be faced with at least ONE mental illness but out of that many people, not many will ask for help due to the stigma and misunderstanding on mental health.  That is A LOT of people, don’t you think? And then the blog evolved to allow ME to stand on my soapbox and talk about bullying, violence, child abuse, racism, homophobia and any other “isms” you can think of.

During that time I had started writing more, privately and noticed that I was enjoying poetry and dabbled in flash fiction too. And so I started Cher Shares  which has enabled me to develop my writing skills and I have grown to love writing Japanese forms, Haiku, Senryû and Tanka…and so I chose a nom de plume, Tournesol, for these short form poems and  changed Cher Shares title to Tournesol dans un Jardin; I had started a blog at blogspot Tournesol dans un Jardin to facilitate those readers and poets who are on blogspot but it is getting time consuming.  Although I find blogspot more user friendly, WordPress is community based and I like my community:)

So… which direction did I finally take?

© C.L.R. 2014

I may pause Tournesol dans un Jardin and continue at Cher Shares but change it to Tournesol dans un Jardin so I can stay in the WordPress community

Should I get my head examined?  I did and that`s why I have simplified things.

© Cheryl-Lynn Roberts, 2014/10/14

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

8 thoughts on “Why do I blog?

  1. keep one on Wordpres and one on Blogger and connect both with a link to the other in the sidebars. And go with your intuition: It will always lead you right 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, done ~ its good to get a decision in the end and get on with the creativity 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

