Posted in Did you know?

Ten of the Most Helpful Comments to Someone with Mental Illness

Wonderful advice on what to say to someone with Mental illness…read on

Rose with Thorns

A rose near the college I attend at Oxford University A rose near the college I attend at Oxford University

Many times people with mental illness are told hurtful things. Other intend well but might speak out of ignorance or nervousness. This ends with all involved feeling uncomfortable and wounded.

Today while talking with one of the heads of the program I am at, I realized how I have become more open to comments that others make when I open up about my illness. Sure, their words might be confusing or a bit triggering, but at least they are trying to be helpful. Instead of hiding my struggles, I have been honest with my fellow students at Oxford. Thankfully, they have all responded wonderfully.

View original post 700 more words

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

4 thoughts on “Ten of the Most Helpful Comments to Someone with Mental Illness

Leave a Reply

