Posted in Dementia, Mental Health, Reflections

Searching likeness (Shadorma – Tilus)

Witnessing mother slip away, reflecting on daughter’s destiny…

Tournesol dans un Jardin

http://bastetandsekhmet.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/swans.jpg

Hauntingly
seeks reconnaissance
echoing
brilliance
sun reflects on golden pond
unlike empty eyes.

Insights, comprehension
forever
gone.

In a daze
strives for some semblance
hesitates
contemplates
who is this old face who gapes?
where has time escaped?

rouses from a deep sleep
spots her, in
me.

Is this fate…
reality bites
I shall change
destiny
cast off all senility
inhale lucidness.

Embrace reflections on
this pond…see,
me.

 

© Cheryl-Lynn 2014/05/27

Submitted for: Mindlovemiserysmenagerie Shadorma Photo Prompt #9

A shadorma is composed of six non-rhyming lines (sestina or sextet) and the syllable pattern is 3-5-3-3-7-5.  It can have as many stanzas as you like, just as long as each stanza follows the syllable pattern mentioned above .  You have a week to create you poems so be patient and let the photo inspire you!  Or use your own photograph or art work!

Tilus – the poem is divided…

View original post 55 more words

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

2 thoughts on “Searching likeness (Shadorma – Tilus)

  1. Yes let us cast off senility! None here! Would I know if it was even? I asked my Dr. about Alezheimer’s since my Pa had it and would I know it if I did and he said more the likely your Pa had it for years but thought he was forgetful. Which is kind of scary. I think I need to exercise my brain more. I love this.

    Like

    1. Yes indeed! Let it be a war against senility!! Writing poetry, exercising are all things that are good for your brain…I think you are doing quite fine, Michelle Marie. Thanks for your comments and for reading. I appreciate it. xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

