Posted in Mental Health

Mania Strikes Again

Monday, May 12, I attended a lecture at the Douglas Hospital on Bi-Polar Disorder. The Ex Director and Chairperson of Revivre each shared their personal stories as well Dr. Beaulieu, Psychiatrist generously answered questions from the audience for one hour. What struck me was how he tries to help his patients manage there condition…empowering them to prevent possible episodes of psychosis. This reblog was so refreshing to read! She generously shares how she manages her health. I have to say, I truly admire this amazing and generous person.

The lecture will be available on video soon…stay tuned, in French only though.

Cheryl-Lynn

Bipolar For Life

Why does it always happen the night before I have an appointment?  Not even an anxiety-inducing appointment, just a regular one that I simply need to get myself to and show up for.

Last night I took my bedtime meds at the usual time, did my whole pre-bedtime ritual: take meds, brush teeth, give Noga the Wonder Dog her brief nightly training session and resultant treats; get into bed with a book.

In general, by the time I make it into bed, I’m crashing, and sometimes don’t even make it through the “putting on pajamas” stage, but wake up in the morning to find myself half naked and freezing. The nights here are still chilly and I might not have got to far along as to pull up the covers.

The important part out of all of this is sleep.  I have never been good at sleeping.  Even as a…

View original post 767 more words

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!