Posted in Did you know?

It spoke to me

A humbling experience

Tournesol dans un jardin

(Haiku – Huitain)

(Haiku)

A lovely post spoke
to me; started to self-reflect
such a humbling feat.

me jan 2013 B & WI read a poem this morning and it made me think.  I love when that happens.  You know, when you read something and it speaks to you?  A Thousand Mirrors did that to me.  Maybe it’s because I work in counselling but I think it triggered something more personal.  Last night I was attending my 8th workshop on Borderline Personal Disorder. It’s for family and friends of someone who has this condition. It is not to just know more about what a person with BPD is going through;  it is to understand what a caregiver or loved one can do to help and also take care of themselves.

So I was  no longer in the counsellor’s seat learning how to better assist someone with BPD but rather I was in the “mirror” looking…

View original post 392 more words

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

6 thoughts on “It spoke to me

  1. The woman I loved had BPD.. It was terrible to see the symptoms or effects. Is there a cure?

    Like

    1. Do you mean Borderline Personality or Bi-Polar Disorder? one is a personality disorder and the other is a chemical imbalance.There is treatment for both conditions…and for the personality disorder, there is recovery with therapy. The latter, well, I am far from an expert and it stabilizes for sure with medication and therapy…it is quite complex and each person may have different symptoms…it is NOT a one size fits all situation and unfortunately some people seem to think so…that’s where the stigma comes in to play a part that hurts.

      Like

      1. I meant borderline.. You understand mor than most. Helping people to understand mental illness… Peace

        Like

      2. Wow it’s late…. Are you on the west coast of The US or in some far away land? Thank for reading my blog… Only a few do…

        Like

Leave a Reply

