Posted in Did you know?, Mental Health

Suicide Prevention week Feb 2 to 8th – Québec

February 2 to 8th is national suicide month here in Quebec. Then I read somewhere else that it is also the month of love yourself. How odd to have both the same month and yet, is it that odd? If we loved our self enough, would we be so filled with despair? I am not minimizing depression or any other mental health condition but still…You sort of wonder, eh? Love yourself.

I have been hearing more and more youths who talk about how they don’t like themselves…how they seem to be their worst enemy. The difference with youths today, they are doing something about it. Yes, some are actually reaching out.

Do you remember when YOU were a teen if you thought of asking for support because you t yourself down, because you didn’t like your voice, your hips, your height, your complexion?  Truly, now!  No cheating! How many thought that was actually important to your own wellbeing?

Now if you are as old as I am, raised in the 1960 and 1970’s self-esteem was not even a word, was it? It was not until 1976 that so many experts wrote about this like Nathaniel Brandon, Virginia Satir and Wayne Dyer. Of course there are many other authors but those are the few that put a dent into self-improvement…starting to look at the self…within, that darn inner child…That may sound like a cliché but frankly, I still feel it is relevant. Don’t you?

So if you were raised in the 1980’s chances are your parents focused a lot more on phrases like “inner child” and “self-esteem”.  After that, honestly, so many other authors regurgitated the original writers of the mid 1970’s. Yes, I am that old!

If you are in Quebec, here is the Suicide Prevention provincial number: 1-866-277-3553 or 1-866-APPELLE  February 2 to 8th    Association Québécoise de la Prévention du Suicide.

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

7 thoughts on “Suicide Prevention week Feb 2 to 8th – Québec

  1. I lived with my grandmother for a period of time and was going through a low moment…and wanted to know if I was pretty (I felt pretty fat and ugly at that point) her answer was “pretty is as pretty does” ..makes you feel a real chump…that was 1965…things have come a long way, thank heavens. Thanks for the informative post!

    Like

    1. Arrrgh that burns and must have hurt you so much!! My sister, mom and I moved in with my grandmother when I was a teen in 1967. Grandmaman would scold my mother for telling us how beautiful and perfect we were,saying we would hve swelled heads. Im so glad she didn’t pay attention to her then.

      Like

      1. Yes, it was part of their generation I think, always worried that children would become too conceited etc…I suppose society preferred well mannered complexed persons…

        Like

      2. Yes, and my mom did not want her children to feel complexed as her mother had made her feel. It is so ironic though as my grandmother was a very proud and vain person…almost a contradiction of sorts. But she may not have told me I was beautiful but she did make me feel special as a person and gave me so much in other forms…resilience, confidence and determination all from my grandmother.

        Like

      3. The contraditions of life…my grandmother wasn’t much better actually but in the end, we all have our little vanities, but often one sees them only in others!

        Like

Leave a Reply

