Posted in Did you know?, Mental Health

Get involved in Mental Health

The video below is food for thought…if we ALL could find ways to support and help those suffering from mental health related conditions…if we ALL understood more…recovery would be a reality for so many; the suffering could finally be reduced.  There IS help.

There are many ways YOU can help. If you are not a mental health care professional, did you know that you can still make a HUGE difference?  Volunteering in many organizations in your area is part of putting a huge dent in the problems with our mental health care system.

I started volunteering 30 plus years ago listening on the phones, making friendship visits to isolated and lonely people…to name a few things you can do to make a difference.  Check with your nearest mental health agency, volunteer agency or churches, religious institutions to get an idea of what is available out there to help. Peer support for friends and families is another way to help; getting informed and going to lectures on mental health and if you can’t get out of the house, webinars are available in so many parts of the world. Get involved…You will not regret it. Not only will you be pleased at what you are learning, the benefits will surely out way the costs of giving…really!

Cheryl-Lynn, 2014/01/29

I was having difficulty embedding the link of the video so I have included the link herein below; you can add subtitles to your language as well.

Vikram Patel: Mental Health for all by involving all

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

7 thoughts on “Get involved in Mental Health

  1. Thank you so very much for your important work! I am absolutely baffled by the continuing stigma against persons with mental challenges. I am honest (with my relative’s permission) about her schizophrenia and how well she is doing. Even when she wasn’t doing well, it was just like anyone else with medical struggles.

    Like

    1. I’m glad to hear that. I volunteered for over 10 years before going back to university to get my degree (career change)so I could do what I love:) Thanks for dropping by and taking the time to comment. Namaste, cl

      Like

      1. Yes indeed…if I did not get paid here, I would volunteer and find work to pay my bills…lol there is always a way to fulfill passions:)

        Like

Leave a Reply

