Posted in Compassion, Mental Health, Stigma Talks

Reach out, let’s talk

young teen thinking of problems SILOUETTE

Despair became her friend
sadness wrapped her like a blanket
Drinking, harming her new trend;
death seemed like her only target,
woke up mornings and saw grey
looked outside and just saw clouds
Praying, hoping was her way
now the pain just screamed too loud.
had no clue that there was hope
there are people who assist
teaching different ways to cope
seeing lifelines on a list
she decides, give one more try
called Kids Help Phone late one night
realized she needn’t die
Gave life a chance, seeing the light.
Sure am glad she called that night.

Don’t give up when times are bleak
Talk to someone who you trust
if you’re scared, then just call us
1-800-668-
6868, it’s not too late
we’re always open, day and night
we never close…so call, alright?

© Cheryl-Lynn, 2014/01/18

Youth lines: Canada 1-800-668-6868 Kids Help Phone

Youth Lines around the world look at the map here:

Child Helpline International CHI

&

On January 28, let’s talk.
Bell will donate 5¢ more to mental health initiatives for every:

 -Text message sent*
– Mobile and long distance call made*
– Tweet using #BellLetsTalk
– Facebook share of our Bell Let’s Talk image

*By a Bell or Bell Aliant customer only

So even if you are with a different phone provider the tweets and facebook shares will donate 5 cents…so share, share, share and let’s talk about mental health to remove the stigma so more people, youths and adults will get help. There is treatment, there is recovery and there is always help.

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

11 thoughts on “Reach out, let’s talk

      1. I think it has to do with our upbringing … too, I know families that hardly speak, so sad. *smile
        My cause is bullying … that is all about communications too.

        Like

      2. I will have to check your blog more…I have a section on bullying too here…in mid November we spread the word a lot. I asked some bloggers for raps or poems for that week last November. What a great response too! I am a bit too busy right now with Mental Health project for the next 2 weeks but after than, I should get my normal beat back and will have time to read more blogs. I am so glad you found me. I’m always looking for more stuff on bullying…those are such heart wrenching and difficult problems to resolve.

        Like

      3. Cheryl, thanks for your wonderful response …. it was jut a little short story I posted yesterday, not mine …
        You’re welcome back when ever it suits you. I also the stopping of Human Traffic .. and did a post last year – but that is a long one with loads of information.
        Take it easy and give you some quality time from the project, been there myself …
        Lovely meeting you,
        Viveka

        Like

      4. I think it has to do with our upbringing … too, I know families that hardly speak, so sad. *smile
        My cause is bullying … that is all about communications too.

        Like

  1. Reblogged this on Sly Fawkes and commented:
    I hope it’s all right to reblog this–not claiming I wrote it by any means! It’s important information and I feel it needs to be shared.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Bastet and Sekhmet's Library and commented:
    Whether you are a Bell or Bell Aliant customer…or not…these links may interest you…and if you need someone who can maybe help you when all seems dark…pick up the phone and get help. This is for Canada, but…throughout the Western World, and perhaps in other places I know nothing about…help is often just a call away.

    Like

Leave a Reply

