Posted in Did you know?

Dear ‘Daddy’ in Seat 16C

Kindness Blog

Dear 'Daddy' in Seat 16C

Dear “Daddy,”

I don’t know your name, but Kate called you “daddy” for the entire flight last week and you kindly never corrected her. In fact, you didn’t even flinch as you could probably tell that she was not confusing you with her own “daddy,” but instead making a judgment regarding your level of “safety” for her. If she calls you “daddy” then you better believe she thinks you are alright.

I sat Kate, my 3-year-old who has autism, in the middle seat knowing full well that there would be a stranger sitting next to her for the duration of this flight. I had to make a quick decision and based on her obsession with opening and closing the window shade, I figured she might be less of a distraction if she sat in the middle. I watched the entire Temple basketball team board the plane, and wondered if one…

View original post 565 more words

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

5 thoughts on “Dear ‘Daddy’ in Seat 16C

    1. I know , eh? I read it a few days ago and then I decided to share since there is always so much sadness shared. This blog is mostly for awareness on mental health but feeling good, acts of kindness makes us all feel hopeful and happy to be part of the human race. How are you doing Ms Scottie? Schools have a week to two week break in March….any for you?

      Like

      1. A long weekend in Feb…..but don’t know when then Spring break. Haven’t a clue. But not too far away, I know. Lent comes first. Bugger! Then whenever the rest happens.
        That post head me all coochified at the guy and the mum and, not least, that gorgeous wee one.
        I’m doing fine. Just back in from my birthday night out treat courtesy of my three eldest. I’m afraid I gave in. Had to come home and loosen the zip on my dress….I ate so much! Sent them out with their dad for a couple of pints. I just couldn’t! Gawd, I’m getting old and knackered! But it was a grand night. Great chat, lots of laughs and waaaay to much eating.
        Hope you’re doing well, my lovely Canadian lady. feel we keep missing ech other in our blogging ‘business’ but all to the good in the exploration of new worlds.
        I ‘met’ Shirley Maya recently and she was saying how she knew you. Small world. Lol. 🙂
        Take care, Oliana. Don’t work too hard. x

        Like

      2. I’m glad you had a nice celebration. You so deserve it! We have a 3 day weekend 2n weekend in Feb (Family day) and then schools alternate from one part of the country to the next…the 4 weeks of March…mostly it would be week one and two…my son is off the first week I think and my grandson too…well, that would be my ex too as he is driving a school bus in his retirement. I am taking the 3rd week in Feb off (last year’s vacation time) because I am tired. Just don’t have the energy much but I do love what I do…so I just don’t do much on my time off but write, take photos and read.

        Like

Leave a Reply

