Posted in Learning Differences, Stigma Talks

Sugar Sammy used the “R” word

I drop a coin in this well, wishing for less stigma and more compassion and awareness.
I drop a coin in this well, wishing for less stigma and more compassion and awareness.

Last night, Sugar Sammy
made me laugh
he was so darn funny
and good at his craft.

Then I saw him perform
John Abbott College;
awe for him is now malformed
soon as his act unhinged
no longer made me laugh
made me sad, disappointed
he used the “R” word in a school?
what does this teach anyway?
treating someone as a fool
when we all know that term
stigmatizes, labels as a rule.
When will they only learn?

For lack of a better word, he used the “R” word in his performance at John Abbott College in 2010. I was tired and laughed easily even at politically incorrect jokes last night.  I was that tired. But viewing a performance this afternoon on Youtube mood changed from free spirited, happy, to serious and disapointed.  It’s like watching your favourite celebrity who makes you swoon or go gaga, he says one remark that can turn your loyalty to disdains SNAP just like that…at the SNAP of a finger…just like that. I chose to not add the video in this…the point was not to bring down one performance and go all ape-pooh on him.  Just a stand I felt needed addressed….done. He disappointed me…

© Cheryl-Lynn at Stigma Hurts Everyone, 2014.01.13

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

Leave a Reply

