Posted in Grief, Re-blogs

My Final Respects to Oscar

A beautiful post on rendering homage to a beautiful soul who has passed…a read that will touch anyone who knows grief.

My Travels with Depression

If you’ve never been a pet owner you might not completely understand the deep unconditional love we attach to our beloved pets.  Maybe you have experience of what a pet can mean when we are living with mental illness, especially if you live alone, as I do.

I watched my two cats being born fourteen years ago.  There were only two in the litter.  ‘Mother-Elsie’ was a stray I took pity on, one cold winter’s night.  She was the first cat I had ever known.

WP_20131123_001

My world was very different back then.  I had a good job that I loved.  Life was busy and comfortable.  There was no awareness of mental illness, as I know it now.  In many ways, a stray cat with two kittens was not really on the agenda, but something felt right, even though it cost me a small fortune.

It can be amazing to think…

View original post 787 more words

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

2 thoughts on “My Final Respects to Oscar

Leave a Reply

