Posted in Bullying, Reflections, Stigma Talks

Same Love

Human rights, cultural diversity
ending all discriminations.
Understanding it’s not a choice
it’s natural sexual attraction
Mutual respect, the right to feel safe
anywhere and everywhere,
should not just be a person’s dream but right,
(Y)our rights to civil liberties.
Each child and youth and teens especially
and every man and woman too
you’d think should expect nothing less
anywhere, everywhere…same rights, same liberties…Same Love!

© Cheryl-Lynn Roberts, Stop the Stigma, August 27, 2013

MACKLEMORE & RYAN LEWISSAME LOVE feat. MARY LAMBERT (OFFICIAL VIDEO)

  

Published on 12 Feb 2013

When I was in the third grade I thought that I was gay
‘Cause I could draw, my uncle was, and I kept my room straight
I told my mom tears rushing down my face
She’s like “Ben you’ve loved girls since before pre-k tripping,”
Yeah, I guess she had a point, didn’t she?
Bunch of stereotypes all in my head.
I remember doing the math like, “Yeah, I’m good at little league”
A preconceived idea of what it all meant
For those that liked the same sex
Had the characteristics
The right wing conservatives think it’s a decision
And you can be cured with some treatment and religion
Man made rewiring of a predisposition
Playing god, aw nah here we go
America the brave still fears what we don’t know
And god loves all his children, is somehow forgotten
But we paraphrase a book written thirty-five-hundred years ago
I don’t know

And I can’t change
Even if I tried
Even if I wanted to
I can’t change
Even if I try
Even if I wanted to
My love
My love
My love
She keeps me warm
She keeps me warm
She keeps me warm
She keeps me warm

If I was gay, I would think hip-hop hates me
Have you read the YouTube comments lately
“Man, that’s gay” gets dropped on the daily
We become so numb to what we’re saying
A culture founded from oppression
Yet we don’t have acceptance for ’em
Call each other faggots behind the keys of a message board
A word rooted in hate, yet our genre still ignores it
Gay is synonymous with the lesser
It’s the same hate that’s caused wars from religion
Gender to skin color, the complexion of your pigment
The same fight that led people to walk outs and sit ins
It’s human rights for everybody, there is no difference!
Live on and be yourself
When I was at church they taught me something else
If you preach hate at the service those words aren’t anointed
That holy water that you soak in has been poisoned
When everyone else is more comfortable remaining voiceless
Rather than fighting for humans that have had their rights stolen
I might not be the same, but that’s not important
No freedom till we’re equal, damn right I support it

And I can’t change
Even if I tried
Even if I wanted to
My love
My love
My love
She keeps me warm
She keeps me warm
She keeps me warm
She keeps me warm

We press play, don’t press pause
Progress, march on
With the veil over our eyes
We turn our back on the cause
Till the day that my uncles can be united by law
When kids are walking ’round the hallway plagued by pain in their heart
A world so hateful some would rather die than be who they are
And a certificate on paper isn’t gonna solve it all
But it’s a damn good place to start
No law is gonna change us
We have to change us
Whatever god you believe in
We come from the same one
Strip away the fear
Underneath it’s all the same love
About time that we raised up

And I can’t change
Even if I tried
Even if I wanted to
I can’t change
Even if I try
Even if I wanted to
My love
My love
My love
She keeps me warm
She keeps me warm
She keeps me warm
She keeps me warm
Love is patient
Love is kind
Love is patient
Love is kind
(I’m not crying on Sundays)
Love is patient
(I’m not crying on Sundays)
Love is kind
(I’m not crying on Sundays)
Love is patient
(I’m not crying on Sundays)
Love is kind
(I’m not crying on Sundays)
Love is patient
(I’m not crying on Sundays)
Love is kind
(I’m not crying on Sundays)
Love is patient
Love is kind

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

6 thoughts on “Same Love

  1. Amazing song. Thank you for sharing. It is the first time I’ve listened to it, but it won’t be the last.
    And thank you for writing up the lyrics too. It is difficult to choose, as the story is told so poignantly – every one counts – but these two make for a good slogan:
    I might not be the same, but that’s not important
    No freedom till we’re equal, damn right I support it

    Like

  2. when I came out I was only 18. In Scotland it was still illegal to be a practicing homosexual if you were under 21. It took great courage to stand and be couunted. We live in another world today but there is still some room for improvement.

    Like

    1. I can imagine that was pretty rough when you were younger. Things have changed but you are so right…there IS so much room for improvement. Wouldn’t it be nice if society could just “embrace our differences”? So it’s up to many to educate society as best we can. Blessings and thank you for sharing here.

      Like

  3. I was ten or eleven when I first learnt about homosexuality, I snatched my sister’s teenage magazine. There was an article about a celebrity who came out as gay (I can’t remember his name, though). Even though at that time I was more interested in rc cars and superheroes than pondering about sexuality (including my own), I was really curious about what I’d read. And I thought ‘wow, these people are unique!’. That’s right, unique, not weird, sick or perverted. And I couldn’t find a reason for using whispered word ‘faggot’. I think every child is open to the idea of love, it’s the social, cultural or religious background that forces their thoughts to add dirt to their clean stream of thoughts (sorry, tacky metaphor 🙂 ).
    It’s easy to say gay people are sick. Some use the unfair argument about high rate of mental disorders and suicides. How convenient it is not too admit the cause of these dramas lies not in sexuality, but too often in social factors.
    Not so long ago I found a beautiful sentence. ‘Maturity and strength of society is best found in the way it treats minorities’.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time to share that! Wouldn’t it be nice if every youth was encouraged to see differences as “unique”! I would like to believe that that youth will mature and be part of the “mature society”. I just love that sentence that described a mature and strong society! So very true, and I would probably add a society that embraces our differences. Blessings

      Like

Leave a Reply

