Posted in Sexual orientation, Stigma Talks, video

Lucy: My Coming Out Story

Lucy: My Coming Out Story

National Coming Out Day,

October 11, 2013

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

One thought on “Lucy: My Coming Out Story

  1. Reblogged this on Traces of the Soul and commented:
    In the mid to late 1990’s, I taught Personal and Social Development in girls` private high school as a counsellor/life skills educator. I had been hearing some younger girls between the ages of 13 and 14 sharing mixed feelings…some confused, some fear and others pointing ugly fingers at a classmate. This was always shared confidentially in their journals they were required to write about the topic of the class (anything from sex ed, drugs, alcohol, relationships, self-esteem etc.) and some used this forum to disclose their feelings or ask questions they were otherwise not inclined to ask in the classroom.
    The rule at the start of each year in September was that what was shared in that class, remained in that class. The grade 9 (13-14 years old) was the class that tested me the most especially during sex ed. That was the year I decided to forgo my punk partly shaved coiffure to a classic bob covering my ears. My ears turn red when I`m embarrassed! Well, the first year anyway but that`s when I decided to try out long hair for the first time in my life…if my ears could tell a tale, why not veil that mystery now and then.
    Around that time I remember taping Ellen DeGeneres’ sit com …the episode where she did her public “coming out”. The headmistress and I got a long great and she gave me pretty much free reign in those classes, thanking me in the hallway every time she saw me for being there for her girls. I was there only part time…and played more a role of “confidante”. I loved those girls.
    “My So Called Life” was another sit-com I would often show for discussions…excellent show youths could relate to at that time, relationships, boyfriends, sexual orientation, parents struggling in their marriage…it was watching Life on the screen.
    One young girl was often pointed out as being “weird” and other names. I knew this girl was shy and between 12 and 15, let’s face it, girls’ bodies change A LOT! But I couldn’t really address the taunts until it was brought out into the open. When I showed Ellen’s episode, some girls were vocal and discussions also ensued on normalizing that period where we sneak peak over to check if one girl’s body is developing like hers, if she is normal to look the way she does which are different than being attracted. And so that show opened up some really interesting talks. And the journals I received for the next few weeks had more questions.
    I wish I would have had a video like this one here…not from a celebrity but a person the girls may have related to best. It is sad there has to be ONE “coming out” day but it is good that it gives a chance for many who are “ready” to take that step…coming out to themselves first…perhaps a close trusted friend…maybe even a parent…there are many coming outs their entire life but this day may incite that first step.
    I think of our youths who call and I hope this day may have helped even one. Namaste…

    Like

Leave a Reply

