Posted in Did you know?, Stigma Talks

Light a candle tonight 8:00 PM – World Suicide Prevention Day – September 10th

On my way to work today, I was thinking of the many things I want to share related to mental health, parenting,  youths, school life and I asked myself, «Why not add a post weekly or more often, and discuss one issue more in depth? »  Today, I am simply posting a very important message and reminder for those who already are familiar with World Suicide Prevention Day and the candle vigil.  It`s coming up so quickly and it is an important message.

Mental illness is something we are finally talking more and more about and it`s about time!  The main reason, of course, is to allow “society” (youths, all adults as well as professionals) to hear the message loud and clear that mental health is as important as physical health.  That does not sound much like a complex theory by the way, does it?  But it is still perceived so differently. {sigh}

I suppose the media is helping even though their main goal may be to sell more newspapers, increase viewers or listeners but still, admittedly, it helps A LOT!    Suicide is reported too often for me to feel comfortable, however.  It makes me feel we have failed as a society, as professionals in the helping field…but that is an emotional reaction and not a rational afterthought.

stjosephpulse.com
stjosephpulse.com

On Tuesday, September 10th it is World Suicide Prevention Day.  It is an international candle ceremony that will be taking place all over the world, in homes and on line.  For some it will be their way of remembering a loved one and friends who are survivors of suicide.

I am including a newsletter  that was posted on Facebook on the page of Kids Help Phone. A very important message!

Kids Help Phone shared  the following link with this newsletter on suicide and youths.  Kindly read further.  There are important tips for adults, professionals and mostly parents and friends of someone you may think has suicidal ideations.

What keeps youth from talking about suicide? 

In Focus – September 2013 – Kids Help Phone 

LonelyHere are some links you may find helpful. 

Allow me to share a brief story on the importance of sharing resources:

A young boy, teen, called thinking seriously of suicide.  He had been depressed for quite some time and he had a plan. After talking for quite some time,  he began feeling there just “may” be hope. At the end of the call, I asked him how he heard about the phone service.  “Oh, a buddy of mine slipped a tab from a Smarties box in my pocket without my knowing.  I just happened to find it tonight.”  (Youth line is printed on most Nestlé products).  So if you have a helpful link or resource to share with a friend, DO IT, you just never know how important that action could be…may even save a life and in the very least, offer hope. Blessings.

Important links:

Canadian Association of Mental Health (CAMH)
Take 5 To Save Lives 
Suicide Prevention Australia 
Suicide Prevention in Canada 
CDC (Center for Disease and Control) 
Suicide Prevention London UK

International Association of Suicide Prevention IASP

Related Article: A voice that pulled her back from the brink (The Hindu)

© Cheryl-Lynn Roberts, September 6, 2013

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

8 thoughts on “Light a candle tonight 8:00 PM – World Suicide Prevention Day – September 10th

    1. Thank you!! and also for following my blog…it is a great way to accompany those who mourn their tragic loss, collectively and tell the world there IS help and an alternative to these intense dark helpless feelings. Blessings

      Like

  1. Hey, Suicide prevention and awareness is so important… it’s one of those things we all want to turn a blind eye to and say “this doesn’t effect me” until of course one day it does… be it some-one close to us, a relative, a friend, even an acquaintance… and then we are sent reeling… I have had close encounters with suicide, my step-sister was successful in terminating her life.

    Thank-you for spreading the message 🙂

    Also I follow a guy on FB – Darick Reed: https://www.facebook.com/MeAgainstFear/info – webpage: http://meagainstfear.com/ he is walking across 4 states to raise awareness for suicide prevention… definitely a worthy cause.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for sharing this with me. I am truly sorry for your tragic loss. I will certainly check out that website you recommend. I feel for my friends who have lost someone through suicide and hear all too often of youths I work with who have taken their life…talking about it does not give a person the idea to suicide but allows people to know there is help and more think about it at some point in their life than we are ready to admit. Thanks again, Namaste.

      Like

  2. Reblogged this on Suicide ….Causes and Effect and commented:
    I wish I could have known 4 yrs ago how my son could have been helped. I can only think that he would still be here if I had known the severity of his depression. Perhaps, many will be saved by this world wide effort to bring this information to the public.

    Like

  3. Thank you for this reminder of an event that is personal for me, as I lost my son to suicide 4 yrs. ago. I hope someone will be helped by this day of observation. I would like to reblog this on my blog.

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on Traces of the Soul and commented:
    Please spread the word, World Suicide Prevention Day – September 10, 2013 at 8 p.m. ; worldwide candle ceremony as well as on-line. Check your social networks for local participation as well as on-line.

    Like

Leave a Reply

