Posted in Did you know?

Reflections: What does August represent for you?

Hello!! It’s been way too long.  In my last blog  I was talking about New Year’s resolutions.

Let’s skim over the 7 months…so we can actually reflect on August and what that means to youths and adults…

I did get through the winter months  and the only thing that made it endurable was seeing my adorable grandson weekends, seeing him the odd times playing hockey…I say, “odd time” because I am NOT a morning person and of course little tykes are cursed…well, their parents are cursed to get up at ungodly hours before NOON.  Hence, I saw a few games that were played at more human hours of 11 am or later.

My grandson is such a great sportsman!  He encourages his team mates, he skates in circles forEVER when he has scored so the fans will notice him…and yes, we certainly do notice him:) and I have a gazillion pics on my phone.  I also enjoyed watching my son and daughter play hockey…actually I studied for my degree in an arena, being there so often!

Yet the second time around, it’s a different pleasure to see your grandchild grow up and experiencing their youth…through sports like hockey and soccer. Watching him excel in a sport in so many more ways than just technique…team spirit…socially…yup, it sure is nice!

My daughter hung up her skates after 2 years of playing hockey and put them back on to coach her son…gotta admire a full time single mom coaching:) I sure do!

Since Hockey goes on to nearly summer…let’s just skip Spring …how does that sound?

Summertime…time to hang out later than usual, time to meet friends and have BBQ’s, time for camping , sailing, sailboarding, biking, and lots and lots of swimming…oh, yeah, sure, some golf for the peeps who enjoy walking around after a little ball…just kidding but that was not a sport a family of our income could afford.  When kids are still young…. my school of thought was that you participate in something that the whole family can appreciate considering the $$$$ spent.

Oh sure, parents still need some time alone and “me time”.  You need time alone…fine…biking, jogging and hiking, music, art and of course window shopping cost nothing…I did say WINDOW shopping and my favs reading, journaling and swimming.

I attended my grandson’s summer day camp “Spectacle” July 29th.   It just seemed to hit me that summer was  half over!  It seemed so soon but then again, here we are the 2nd week of August and he has one more week of hockey camp and soon he’ll be getting ready for school.  Yikes!! Does time fly ONLY for people over 50?

So, taking lots of twists and turns, this is the topic of this blog AUGUST…what does this represent to you?                  

To me it always meant cooler weather, stronger winds but great for sailing, more rain and the gloom and doom that school would  soon start.  Don’t get me wrong, I liked school…I just did NOT like getting up in the morning…still don’t!…

So for some reason,  that stuck with me.  By the end of July that meant almost the end of summer.  Growing up, I felt sort of sad, down and lonely because lots of my friends were on trips or away visiting family far away.

Summer Camp?  Uh, not peeps like me…we never had enough money for that but we made our own fun.   My mom would not have wanted us to be away for so long anyways.  She was not like many moms of my friends who were anxious for school to start so their children would be away during the day.  My mom was a stay at home working mom…had her hair salon in our home and she always seemed to be so happy spending free time with me and my sister.

We made our own fun in our small town of less than 5000 population!   We could go to the pool for a swim, swinging in the park, biking to see friends, lying on my belly for hours on the pier at my Grandmaman’s by the river watching the tadpoles and trying to catch catfish only to throw them back in the river…yuck!! how could I eat something that amused me all afternoon?

August often is a time that parents are also thinking about putting a few dollars aside for school; kids are often anxious about going back to school; some can’t wait to take a school bus for the first time…youpeee!!! and some dread going back to the horror of being bullied or the anxiety of NOT performing academically…feeling self-concious about their performance, being accepted by their peers and being exposed to newer and stranger experiences (such as first year high school students).

I do remember anticipating my children’s first day of school…Kindergarten…crying when I got home and by the time my youngest’s turn was to go to school, I was totally lost for 6 months.  Where do I go now?  What do I do now?  Who the heck am I if I am not a full time mom at home…what to do for 6 to 8 hours a day???

I  know I am not alone in feeling this way…and so the following August was an exciting time as I decided to go back to school…university…yeah, sure why not?  Rather than keep saying, “Gee, I wish I would have and then I could have…” So I did get on the pursuit of an education part-time, working part-time to pay my expenses but gradually succeeded in getting my degree.

August nearing September always reminds me of so many mixed emotions…some exciting, some fond memories and others scary.  But then again isnt’ that was change is?

That new school, that new course, that new job, that new …

So, what does August represent for you?  What does preparing for a new school year resonate in your soul?   Does it hit you that your children or child are entering a new stage in their lives?  What stage does that put you?

Ending on a positive note, I  do still like getting at least one new exercise book with those fresh immaculate pages…the first ones I always do my best to write very clearly …  I love the smell of new books and can’t help spending time at drug stores that have school supplies out on sale and it brings me back many many many years back…

What are your thoughts?

Enjoy the rest of your summer… August 2011

Author:

A little bit about moi: I am a mom, a nana, a sister, a woman, a friend, a human being…a youth counsellor, Family Life Educator. I have been working in the helping profession for over 25 years and volunteered in various capacities from youths to seniors. Tournesol is my nom de plume for haiku and other Japanese form poetry here at Tournesoldansunjardin http://cheryllynnroberts.wordpress.com I hope you enjoy reading through my daily waka. I also have another blog "Stop the Stigma" where I may stand on my soapbox now and then and hope it will become a place to drop in and share or comment on issues important to you. In that vein this could be a great way to learn from each other. http://stigmahursteveryone.wordpress.com Namaste!

Leave a Reply

