• Wishing to remove Stigma on Mental Health.

  • Cher Shares – stories and peotry

    Click on the image to visit my other blog

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 330 other followers

  • Alécoute-Ntouch (Life Skills)

    Visit my blog Alécoute-Ntouch Contact: 514 984 2978

  • Categories

  • My Creative Community

A conversation about anger

Brimo anger is an aspect of Ares  rage

Brimo anger is an aspect of Ares rage

A conversation about Anger with Mini-Me (MM)

Me: What do you think is meant by Anger?
Mini Me: It is what it is, right?

Me: but what might that be?
Mini Me: It’s an emotion,
a deep feeling.

Me: but is it sometimes a ruse?
some kind of manipulation?
like the result of a short fuse.
Mini Me: Well (sigh) then it might
have become sort of a weapon; alright.

Me: Like … of mass destruction, you say?!
MM: heh, heh! good one, I like that analogy.
I suppose it can destroy the spirit in a family,
say…if it is to keep everyone in tow.
That type of anger can stem from addiction
among other things, it can be a projection
of what hurts inside and it’s pointed to others.

Me: Oh, oh! like when things erupt in a row
and the yelling scares everyone into silence?
MM: That would certainly stimulate compliance!

Me: But that gives a negative slant to that emotion,
I’m not liking “anger” at all now…too much commotion.
MM: It can also be the only way to make change…reform.

Me: You mean by bullying folks to conform?
MM: Well, that too but I meant to stand up for a principle,
like, to stand up for what you believe and the rights of people.

Me: Fight for a right? huh?
MM: (Sigh) let me explain
in words that are plain:
Say, someone is a bit of a bully and will harass
and a bystander may blow up and say
Hey stop being such a hardass!!

Me: Oh dear! that would attract a fight
and who knows what else that might
erupt all in the name of having a “right”…

MM: You are missing the point again (sigh!)
anger is sometimes necessary to gain
attention and so much more when you
should be respected, speak of what is true.

Me: Yes, I think I understand this; it would
mean to use a controlled anger
that serves a purpose for the greater good.
MM: Yes, exactly. Anger is sometimes a need
to ward off the devious, exploiters and greed.

Me: But what about anger that stems from rage
that performs in a deranged, frightful stage?
I find that very scary…for the person hearing rage
and the person raging feels out of control too.
MM: that is an anger that needs to be addressed,
help from a counsellor or trusted wise friend
and counselling can be a way to contend…
search from where this fury stems.

Me: Kind of like bottled up resentment?
MM: That may be one plausible cause.

Me: And what about the person who is witness?
MM: they require an apology and explanation
of the outburst and pledge it will stop
or at least attempt to control and ration
such frenzied outburst.

Me: I felt much rage and anger when my father died.
I found that quite confusing, why rage mingled with grief?
MM: Anger is part of mourning and, a process that will subside
over time. It matters not to whom the anger is projected,
know that it is part of the grief process, causing healthy relief.

Me: Wow! I did not know that, the things I learn from you Mini-Mi!
MM: So pleased to oblige…there is so much more, you don’t know?

Me: More? You mean other reasons why one gets angry?
MM: it can be a symptom of a greater picture, such as mental health.

Me: Oh, no, not that again…something to excuse this dark comportment.
I don’t buy too much into that excuse, sorry MM but that’s just a copout.

MM: It is, on the one hand but it can be a symptom of mental illness
and there is help, there is hope, there is even treatment.
Me: but treatment can be so long and no one wants to be a zombie.

MM: did I not say there is also recovery for such deportment?
Me: I’ll take your word for it…I guess.

MM: don’t take my word for it, it is can be a symptom of anxiety, depression, to name
but a few, even part of aging or dementia may have outbursts of anger and

even pre/postmenopausal, hormonal based, burnout, and past childhood issues and/or abuse
that have been hidden for many many years…then it can resurface in rations
of sudden rages…It can be quite disconcerting.
Me: what happens to children who are exposed to such outbursts?

MM: a form of explanation but not a justification
one must still acknowledge one’s problems, failings, limits.

Me: I guess that makes sense.
It sure takes a lot to finally  acquiesce.
MM: Yes, it does….it does indeed.

Me: I really enjoyed this little talk, thank you.
MM: You’re welcome, I speak only what is true.

© Cheryl-Lynn, Stop the Stigma, 1/24/2014

Photo credits: Brimo Anger

A prompt on Anger Management from Dungeon Prompt Seekers 
This week’s prompt is: Anger Management (running from January 23 – January 29)

“Anybody can become angry – that is easy, but to be angry with the right person and to the right degree and at the right time and for the right purpose, and in the right way – that is not within everybody’s power and is not easy.”

- Aristotle

“In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.”

- Buddha

“Speak when you are angry and you will make the best speech you will ever regret.”

- Ambrose Bierce

“Usually when people are sad, they don’t do anything. They just cry over their condition. But when they get angry, they bring about a change.”

- James Russell Lowell

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Cher Shares and commented:

    A conversation between Me and Mini-Me on Anger. Hope you enjoy this, Cheryl-Lynn

    Reply
  2. Great conversation to help spread the awareness of so many reasons for anger.

    Reply
    • Thank you, it was fun and it was a conversation I was having with myself. I decided to not complicate this exercise…a little peak in my inner conversations.

      Reply
  3. Reblogged this on Traces of the Soul and commented:
    A conversation about anger…

    Reply
  4. Wow, Cheryl, love this.
    The anger that is justified to effect needed change my mum always called ‘righteous indignation’. Sometimes it’s needed. Great overview. Think I’ll be having a word with my MiniMe. See what I can learn. It’s been a while. ;) x

    Reply
    • Yes, on my other blog I call her my inner voice, so I had to choose Mini Me:) It was fun…like writing what I’m thinking. I think we sometimes mistake assertiveness with anger…you don’t have to get angry to assert but for someone who has been passive and walked on for so long, it comes out angry until they get the hang of it. I used to warn clients when giving assertiveness training…warn your loved ones, cos you may inadvertently bite their heads off. hehe

      Reply
  5. I’m so glad to see someone else that has conversations with themselves. I do this often and my girl will ask, “Mom who are you talking to?” OH that again! Ya! I love this!

    Reply
    • I used to have a few dogs raising the kids…and my excuse to talk to myself out loud on the street, folks thought I was talking to my dogs:)

      Reply
      • Oh that’s a good one. I do talk to my dog. My girl thinks that is weird too but OH well. I have reasoned out a lot of things with myself. Hehe. Have a good work day today friend. The weekends are far too short I believe! Hugs to you!

      • I don’t hve my pooch anymore but me and Bette, my cat and I have conversations as well. Thank goodness, since I do live alone. Hugs right back at ya xx

  1. Dungeon Prompts – Season 2, Week 4: Anger Management | The Seeker's Dungeon
  2. Anger | Contemplating Me
  3. Dungeon Prompts – Season 2, Week 5: Community | The Seeker's Dungeon

Leave a Reply

Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Pooky's Poems

A poem a day penned by @PookyH

Mark M. Redfearn

Poems and Pieces

Basho and Jung

A Haiku a day. Mined from my dreams.

Carpe Diem's Tackle It Tuesday

A new part of the Carpe Diem Haiku Family has born to day. I present Tackle It Tuesday a weekly haiku meme in which you can write and share haiku inspired on a given prompt,

KAJORI

only one LIFE

milan rajkumar

whispers of life, scribbles of poetry,spasms of creative non-fiction...

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

Haiku Horizons

A Haiku prompt/meme site

Bastet's Silver Polishing

Bastet's Feedback and Editing Blog

A Haiku A Day

keeps your brain from going astray

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheros - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Blog It or Lose It!

Keeping my brain from turning into oatmeal...

Chèvrefeuille's haiku

A great WordPress.com site

lindaghill

Life in progress

∙ tenderheartmusings ∙

we were born naked onto the page of existence; with nothing but the pen of our soul to write ourselves into eternal ecstasy ~ DreamingBear Baraka Kanaan

| AuTisM CafE |

EXPERIENCE | AUTISM | CREATIVELY

yes even this too will pass

Peace Be Unto Us All...

whitecrow12013's Blog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

The Scrolls of Sion

T J Therien (A world in which Trolls have no influence)

The Clear Parent

connecting relevant research to practical parenting in a modern world

The Bipolar Bum

Backpacking and Bipolar II. Taking Manic Depression on tour.

simplyvegetarian777

Cooking, Writings, Photography and Everyday Musings

Shawn L. Bird

Original poetry, commentary, and fiction. All copyrights reserved.

scottishmomus

What I See

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Owls and Orchids

Life, Love, Spiritual Living and the odd Catastrophe.....

One step at a time...

My life has become out of hand. My addictive behavior in relationships and attachments has finally gone too far and now is the time to fix this. Now is the time to fix me. Starting with how I got here and continuing through my journey of how to become the best me I can be.

mindlovemisery

"We're all out there, somewhere, waiting to happen."

Morpethroad

Random meaningful words on a page

Irène mids Artiste peintre sculpteur

Peinture acrylique et sculptures en terre cuite : abstrait, contemporain, figuratif (reproduction interdite, oeuvres protégées)

hairballexpress

They call me Shrimp (a.k.a. @Cheap_Trills), and I am a kat. I am the supreme ruler of my house and the humans that serve me. The humans drive me nuts, so this is my daily diary. Read and Beware!

Gotta Find a Home:

Conversations with Street People

Friendly Fairy Tales

Fairy Tales and Poetry Celebrating Magic and Nature for Kids of all Ages

Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

Stories, poems and thoughts about things I find interesting!

this great ape

a chronicle of chronic pain

Earthniversity

Know earth, know life.

Across the Bored

Presumptions and postulations with a twist

Marbles in a Jar

Many voices; one conversation.

The School Counselor Kind

We are one of few

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 330 other followers

